The Buzz

8D904423-B7EC-494F-B85B-0768549966C8
Heber City Administration Building (Heber’s old LDS Tabernacle)

As some of you may have heard buzzing through the air in the last few hours, my amazing, patient, honorable, and hardworking husband has resigned from the City of Lincoln and has agreed to become the new city manager in Heber City, Utah.

I am so excited to be near our children as they grow their families and spend more time making memories with cousins, nieces, nephews, aunts & uncles and Matt’s siblings. This move will be bittersweet. It is with deepest love and sadness that we will be saying good bye to those in our Lincoln Community that have been so wonderfully loving and supportive to Matt (and I) in his role as Lincoln City manager. You’re an amazingly creative and fun people who work hard to create a cohesive community by caring for each other. Helping those who can’t help themselves and lifting those who are struggling to feel love and acceptance as any good, loving people should. 

Matt and I have grown close to you our adopted small town. My first “feels” for Lincoln was the first day I arrived in town for Matt’s job interview when I happened to wander into a tiny store filled with repurposed and reused items for sale. I met owner, Nancy Telford, at her Gypsy Chic POP Up Event. She was such a kindred spirit;  I knew I wanted to live in this town just by speaking to her and meeting Mayor Paul Joiner (at the time) and hearing his inspiring vision of the city’s future. 

My second “feels” for Lincoln, which solidified my love for this town, was my first official day living here: July 4th, 2015. I walked down 5th street during the 4th of July Parade and thought, “holy cow,  this town knows how to throw a party to celebrate Independence Day”. I hungrily snapped photo after photo of the floats, the bands, the cars and the people in their red, white and blue, all the while smiling and waving to each other. It was like I walked into a Rockwell painting. I KNEW this town would be the spot I wanted to live in for a good long time. 

dsc_0134

As I have volunteered and sweated with you all at so many events, I have seen the joy that is created for the community through the efforts of the social clubs, humanitarian clubs, the Down Town Business Association, The Chamber of Commerce and The City itself.  

584062E3-4A35-4542-A237-CD5F4C5B4BCE1BB92467-4D1C-4024-8F08-16EE94EEABD1Please remember, you have created a city of community- people who work together and play together. There will always be some who will strive to create tension or throw that sense of community off-kilter, don’t let them. Stop them by building onto the amazing projects that I have seen over the last three years. The Downtown area is thriving with wonderful restaurants, delicious dessert stops, trendy clothing stores, the most amazing smelling leather bags, so many original vinyl music albums (for a music lover it’s a great shop), home decor, gun & ammo, picture framing needs, special gift shops, the cozy and mysterious Book Cellar (gosh I could live there!) and so much more. The culture coming out from the corners of the downtown area through the Lincoln Art League and the City’s Art through Public Spaces; Lincoln HS’s numerous plays, concerts and choirs; Sun City’s talented people and their events, and most of all from the near and dear to my heart Lincoln Civic Auditorium — the Lincoln Theater Company’s variety of plays and Choristers choir performances are a few of the things I will miss the most.

Baseball has always been a staple in my life, as our boys played all the way through High School, so celebrating the return of the Lincoln Potters and having William Jessup University’s Baseball team play at Mcbean Park has been a boon to my springs and summers. I mean, there’s nothing like the sound of a wooden bat hitting a baseball is there?  I know those programs will continue to thrive and grow and will help Lincoln become a star on the Placer County Map. Enjoy them.

dsc_5065

Don’t take them or the youth sports for granted. This is how a community stays connected.

I am proud I’ve been able to be a member of the Lincoln Community. Thank you and God Bless you for enriching our lives and always being so kind and loving.

Know this— I will cry,  I will hug those who want the hugs and I will, of course, stay in touch even if I move 555 miles away. Because you have all become a piece of my California loving soul.  ❤️ Sandi 

Author: Booking It With Sandra

If you could be anyone person in the whole world who would it be? As nerdy as it sounds I chose to be me! I desire to be the best that I can be and I know you do too. I love to read books written by international authors, write and travel. I might be a little bit of a movie nerd. I love me a good TCM flick and sitting in a lounge chair at the movie theater and macking out on some popcorn.

Leave a comment